Problems trying to control Arduino with iPhone and Official Wifi Shield

Hello All,

My first post here and my first Arduino, so still learning tons and may have overlooked some obvious things that will make this work. I also understand from reading / research etc. that there are still some potential issues with the official wifi shield. Anyways, here is what I am trying to do. Currently just trying to control a few LEDs wired to my Arduino with my iPhone, but ultimately would like to add a servo in to open a door lock. I'm not a complete newbie when it comes to writing code, but am not very familiar with C++. Ive read and googled and searched the forum for as much info as I could find on using the iPhone with an Arduino and wifi shield, but aside from lots of information on using it with a router and an ethernet shield, I have not found much. I tried to adapt my code from the "ardumote" app tutorial, and a another post i read on the subject. Everything compiles fine, and works well with serial control from my computer, but nothing at all from my iPhone. Code / info follows:

I am using an Arduino uno rev3 with an official (Arduino) wifi shield.
I have three 5mm LEDs connected through 300 ohm resistors on pins 5, 6 and 7.

byte mac[] = { 0x7A, 0xC4, 0x0E, 0x1C, 0xAA, 0xF3 };
byte ip[] = { 192, 168, 1, 140 };
#include <WiFi.h>
#include <WiFiClient.h>
#include <WiFiServer.h>
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include <Servo.h> 

char ssid[] = "Leah Wifi";     //  your network SSID (name) 
char pass[] = "le725ahbak";    // your network password
int status = WL_IDLE_STATUS;     // the Wifi radio's status

Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo 
                // a maximum of eight servo objects can be created 

int pos = 0;    // variable to store the servo position 

SoftwareSerial mySerial(2, 3); // using soft serial to monitor what the arduino is doing. The hardware serial is busy talking to the RN-XV

void setup()  
{
  pinMode(5, OUTPUT); // LED5