Help with battery monitor circuit

Hi,

First off, I just want to let you know that I'm no electronics engineer, and that's why I'm posting this. Here's what I want do do:

I would like to be able to monitor the voltage of a battery pack connected to my Arduino Diecimila when it's not powered via USB. That way, it could alert me or go to sleep or something when it is about to run out of juice.

After searching around, I've found two possible options:

The former, with a couple lines of Arduino code, would give me a percentage of battery remaining (I think) (example: "Warning: battery is at 25% of 9V").

The latter, with the correct circuit, could be read with a digital input (high for low battery, low for battery ok). The problem is, I don't know how to design a correct circuit for it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Which approach would be better, and how would I go about implementing it in hardware? Thanks in advance!

are you sure you cant get an analog analizer of the voltage? becuase an analog input would give you very easy numbers and commands to work with...

What do you mean? Is an analog analyzer a part/circuit or something that would allow me to read the voltage from an analog input?

yea, like the voltage sensors you were talking about, except they can go in the arduino analog input instead of digital input, becuase then you have MUCH more flexability with numbers, instead of just low and high...

but i dont know what kind of voltage sensors are out there...

That's great and all, but I need to know things like manufacturers or part numbers!

Does anyone know how to design circuits for the MAX8211?

You can build a voltage divider (two resistors) to measure the battery voltage with the Arduino's built-in ADC.

Datasheets are wonderful things - if you are interested in an IC, get the data sheet. They nearly always include a reference design or example circuit to show how it is used.