Advice about build environment for medical device

Hi everyone,

I'm a doctor, and also an academic. I've an interest in electro-physiological modelling among other things. Together with my department we have developed an interactive virtual patient which is intended to help teaching in low income countries (as well as elsewhere).

The original program was built in flash. This is because of market penetration, especially within hospitals where users are not allowed to install their own software so can only really access applications through the browser. By and large they can't install other RIAs such as Java and Silverlight.

We ran into performance limitations, so there is now another version in Java. This also runs on android, which is cool.

What we want is the ability to interact with pacemaker devices, using either Flash or Java (although Java is preferred for performance reasons). The output would be two voltages, between 0-2mV (generated by the program), and inputs would equally be two voltages from 0-20mV from the medical device. There would be no patient contact, purely device interrogation and teaching.

The modelling code is all written and validated, but regarding the interface with an arduino module:
is this possible? is it easy? What build environment would people recommend?

Grateful thanks,

Kenneth

PS like the way that 'Arduino' is highlighted by the spell checker.

Depending on your background it is very easy or almost impossible. If you are an academic and can find some students of computer science or electrical engineering they should find it easy. If you have never coded and have other interests you will find it extraordinary hard.

Compared to how hard things can become in the microcontroller world, Arduino is to be considered super easy.

With regard to you voltage levels: you will need some care to keep interferences out. But again, no rocket science. Do you have more details on the interfaces?

Udo

Udo, thank you for your reply,