Strobe Light Project

Hello everyone,

I just ordered my Arduino Uno last night and a ProtoShield kit from Sparkfun. I'm somewhat new to electronics, I have a basic understanding of things and have built other small projects before following guides online.

My idea is to build a strobe controller, like one you can place in your car in the windshield and powered by a 12 volt cigarette lighter plug. Which would have 1 push button to change to a different type of pattern, and after 3 secs that pattern would be saved to memory as default. My biggest question I think would be how specifically can I wire up about 60 LED's, 30 for each side of the controller, am I going to need resistors and whatnot? Essentially two sides of 30 LED's would alternate with the different patterns I plan to create. My thought was to connect each set of 30 LED's to the arduino, which I'm not sure what I need to do to accomplish this. I once I get this working instead of using my Arduino Uno all the time to run it, I think I can upload my code to this: ATmega168 with Arduino Bootloader - DEV-08846 - SparkFun Electronics or something similar that is cheaper.

I was thinking of using these LED's if they will be bright enough: http://www.ebay.com/itm/100-X-5mm-Round-white-led-light-Super-bright-100PCS-/170684507716?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27bd96e644 Any suggestions?

This is essentially what I want to create:

To get the effect in the video you linked I would start with a few TLC5940 chips. Each 5940 can drive 16 LEDs. You can use 4 of them to get to your 60 by chaining them together. The setup would require only 5 pins on your arduino not including power and ground. Because you set the current on each 5940 with a single resistor you would not need resistors for every led. Just set the current and go. Then it would just be a matter of setting your patterns in the sketch. Not only can your do a strobe but you still retain the ability to fade on/off.