SID 6581 w/ Uno basic questions

Hi. I'm new to the Arduino and relatively new to electronics, so please bear with me, as I probably will have a few stupidities along the way. I like to learn by throwing myself into the fire and working on an intermediate project and making a whole lot of mistakes along the way. Anyhow, I do know there are a few SID projects out there, and I have looked at them, but I'm also trying to figure this out for myself and conceptually how all the parts fit together. I am familiar with the Commodore 64 and SID registers and how to program it from that computer. I have the SID pinout chart and data sheet as well.

So let me explain what I do have in my project: I have two 595 shift registers cascaded together. One shift register is for the address bus (of which I use the lower five bits), the second is for the data. I have LEDs connected to each so I can see what's going on. My sequence of steps is to clear the registers, set the volume to max, wait, set frequency, set envelope, then turn on the waveform. I tested the equivalent code on a C64 emulator, and a sound is produced. At the end of each address & data pair, I have a pause of a second, so I could see what LEDs light up and what values are going through. So far as I can tell, the correct addresses and data are being sent.