Byvac BV4618 + LCD problems

Hi all,

I have just purchased a 20x4 LCD with a BV4618 attached and am having a little trouble getting it to work well with Arduino.

The fact that I'm a complete Arduino newbie with no prior programming experience doesn't help..! So you'll have to bear with me.

I tried with serial and can get it talking to the Arduino quite happily, displaying text etc. But that seemed to interfere with the rest of the serial/USB operation of the Arduino and it wouldn't let me display floats, so I tried to get I2C working to no avail. It just sat at "Press CR".

Can anyone offer any advice?

If there's a way of getting serial to display what I need to (for example I want to display temperatures from a temperature sensor on the display) that would be fantastic!

Many thanks,

Howard.

If there's a way of getting serial to display what I need to (for example I want to display temperatures from a temperature sensor on the display) that would be fantastic!

You probably need to implement a second serial port using one of the software serial port libraries. They don't seem to use version numbers around here. There was a 'SoftwareSerial library' followed by 'NewSoftSerial'. I guess you want to look for 'NewestSoftSerial' , 'LatestSoftSerial', 'UltimateSoftSerial' or something like that.

Don

floresta:
I guess you want to look for 'NewestSoftSerial' , 'LatestSoftSerial', 'UltimateSoftSerial' or something like that.

XD

It's a simple TMP36 temperature sensor hooked up to an analog input. :slight_smile:

Anyway I've managed to get it working now by figuring out I have to convert the integer to a string in order for the display to show it.

Is this normal? Do most LCD serial controllers operate this way?

Perhaps someone has had some experience with this controller and knows of a better library to use? It all seems a bit "non-standard", Arduino-wise

You haven't said how your are formatting the text.