Power outage sensor solution

hi there
Im a newbie, and started with arduino not long ago. I know a little electronics, and quiet a lot of programming.
I have summer house, and want a arduino that sense if there is a power outage.
I wanted a simple, cheap solution so I read somewhere that you could use a 5 volt adapter on a digital input pin. I have tested it, and it seems to work, altough it takes about 2 seconds for the 5 volt adapter (Nokia charger) to discharge efter the power out. But thats not a problem.

I want to run my arduino directly from a 12v lead acid battery, 75 Ah , which is constantly charged.
The other "stuff" is connected to a 240v inverter.

this is how its wired

My question is really if you guys think this is a good solution? Can I expect problems, partly from directly connecting a 75Ah lead acid battery and partly if the shared ground would cause me any problem?

the code is simply

/*
sense when no power from external power source (240 VAC -> 5 VDC) and then blink a warning led. 
 */

const int  digPin = 8;
int ledPin = 13;      // select the pin for the LED
int buttonState = 0;

void setup() {
  // declare the ledPin as an OUTPUT:
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);  
  //declare the digital pin INPUT
  pinMode(digPin, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
  // read the value from the sensor: 
  buttonState = digitalRead(digPin);  

// turn the ledPin OFF if no externa power exists
  if (buttonState == 1)
    digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);  
  else {
    blink();
    //Serial.print(buttonState);
    //Serial.print("\n");
  }

// stop the program for for 1000 milliseconds:
  delay(1000);                  
}

void blink() {
    if (digitalRead(ledPin) == HIGH)
      digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
    else
      digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
}

thanks
Torbjörn

Your proposal sounds reasonable to me.