how to amplify a thermocouple signal?

I'm new to the wiring/electronics part of arduino, but pretty good with the programming part so I apologize if this is a stupid question.

I want to make a software version of the MAX6675 chip that converts K type thermocouple analog input into a digital output. Like the MAX chip, the sketch will do cold junction compensation using a temp sensing IC or a thermistor to register the room (ambient) temp. (the max chip is $12, a thermistor is $2. Code is free)

The K thermocouple produces .039 millivolts @ 1 deg C, up to 54.886 millivolts @ 1372 deg F.

Best I can tell, (at least the lower part of) this range is too low for the analog inputs on the arduino to register? I hooked up the thermocouple at room temp, where it should produce somewhere in the neighborhood of 1 millivolt...but a simple sketch to write that value to the serial monitor produces 0,0,0,0,0,0,0.

So, how do I cleanly amplify this analog input so I can assign it a usable value to work with for conversion?

I'm new to the wiring/electronics part of arduino,

So you will find that the MAX6675 is quite good value for money. You need to amplify the signal using operational amplifiers. With such a low voltage signal these need to be very good operational amplifiers. They have to be carefully designed and even more carefully constructed. No doubt other might suggest a circuit but my advice is that it is a lot quicker, and cheaper and you get better results using the MAX6675.

Grumpy_Mike:

So you will find that the MAX6675 is quite good value for money. You need to amplify the signal using operational amplifiers. With such a low voltage signal these need to be very good operational amplifiers. They have to be carefully designed and even more carefully constructed. No doubt other might suggest a circuit but my advice is that it is a lot quicker, and cheaper and you get better results using the MAX6675.

I have the 6675 breakout board from adafruit. It works great.