How many LED's can i use on the ATMEG328P-PU

Hi guys

I am a beginner for using the Arduino uno board and I need some help. A lot of my work at home are building models for a hobby. I saw the Arduino on the internet and saw that you can program it to make LEDs flash. I just need to know how many LEDs can I run on the chip also can i program the chip and take it out of the Arduino add it to a PCB. I'm building a model and I need to put some flashing lights on it a lot of lights.
Can you guys help thanks.

rob100:
I am a beginner for using the Arduino uno board and I need some help. A lot of my work at home are building models for a hobby. I saw the Arduino on the internet and saw that you can program it to make LEDs flash. I just need to know how many LEDs can I run on the chip.

The chip has 18 usable outputs.

In reality you're limited to 200mA total output on all pins so you can only run the LEDs at about 10mA each (you need a resistor for every LED).

It's a much better idea is to add an external controler chip like the TLC5940 if you can:

ttp://playground.arduino.cc/learning/TLC5940

rob100:
also can i program the chip and take it out of the Arduino add it to a PCB.

Yes, so long as you add a crystal oscillator for the clock.

Hi thanks for that.

As i am a beginner do you have a pic so i can see how it look like adding the TCL5940 and LED and ATMEGA328P-PU ON A BREAD BOARD. Also what is an crstal oscillator? LOL.

328 and TLC5940 might look like this on a PCB. The silver cans in the middle are crystal oscillators.
This one has RS232 buffer for serial interfacing.

A pre-PCB version might look like this. This has a USB/Serial interface module at the lower left.

Some parts on a solderless breadboard might look like this

CrossRoads:
328 and TLC5940 might look like this on a PCB. The silver cans in the middle are crystal oscillators.

You need one of those and two of the brown lentil shaped things.

The full process is here: http://arduino.cc/en/Main/Standalone