Project Guidance (Security Camera)

I am fairly new to working with Arduino, I have admired many of the projects that have been created using Arduinos, and until now I have not been able to find a way to use one in my personal life.

A little bit of background on the project. I work for a nursing home, and we are installing a new nurse call system. This new system uses IR, RF, and LF to locate residents and staff, it is like a Life Alert System that you can have in your home, but on steroids. The sytem is dependent on residents and staff wearing badges or pendants to identify themselves to the system. However in some rooms we are also adding motion detectors. These motion detectors can trigger a 24v relay. They idea that I was having was to have the motion detector triger the relay, and that will trigger the Arduino to take a 10 pictures over 10 seconds and then save those pictures to a network Share. What I am wanting to know is if this is possible. I have ordered an Arduino Uno, an Ethernet Shield with SD card, and a Serial Camera (TTL Serial Camera Tutorial.

I believe that I understand how to get the camera to work with the Adruino and to write to the SD card, I have not been able to find examples of writing the files to a network share though.

Any help that you guys can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve

An alternate approach which you can get off the shelf is an ordinary webcam with motion detection software running on a PC - the software then logs a sequence of stills or short video clip to whatever location you have specified.

The only problem with that is that the off the shelf web cam does not write back to the Database for the nurse call system to say that someone without a badge was in the room, and doesn't alert anyone. Also I an not wanting to have a pc in every room with the camera.

Has anyone interfaced an off-the-shelf webcam with an Arduino?