Go Down

Topic: Propane Fired Smoke House (Read 159 times) previous topic - next topic

bigredsmokehouse

I am a total noobe to the Arduino and am having a lot of fun.  I am no electrical engineer but am learning.  I am fine with logic and C programming.

I build a smoker out of a 1948 Philco refridgerator and used the Auber plug and play PID (www.auberins.com).  I am now building my ultimate smoker and want to build my control system.  These are my ideas and I would love to hear from the experts.

I tested the MAX6675 / K termocoupler and it works quite nice.  This definitely needs some type of an offset for calibration and I am hoping it is a linear problem for an easy fix.  Any ideas why it is 4-5 degrees off?

I am going to use an oven burner assemply in my smoker with a pilot thermocouple.  I will get the pilot safety as an added bonus.

My plan was to use a simple servo motor to run a needle valve on a typical turkey cooker.  This does not appear to be a big deal.

My question arises around the PID algorithm to control the flow of propane.  I could just control a valve to be on or off and this should not be too difficult in a PID algorithm.  Does anyone have suggestions on how to design/program a PID to regulate the gas flow?  Is it even worth it to try a variable gas flow or should I just stick to an on/off solenoid.

Any recommendations on potential equipment (regulators, valves, etc) would be helpful and recommendations on an approach to a PID algorithm for temperature control using this variable gas approach.

lukeg22woo

Hey Smokehouse,