Go Down

Topic: Is my methodology sound (Read 255 times) previous topic - next topic

mrbilky

Just curious as I'm new to this is it sound that I compile and create a stable sketch incrementally, what I mean is I am working on my sensors first then some valves that will actuate by said sensors values then was going to tackle having the output of said sensors displayed in some way on a 2x16 or a 4x20 or other display? I'm in no hurry this is a project I hope to have stable by Spring :)  Oh and by the way nothing fancy just an automated plant watering/feeding setup

aarg

Nov 14, 2017, 11:27 pm Last Edit: Nov 14, 2017, 11:33 pm by aarg
Yes, it makes good sense to develop incrementally. However you have to make early efforts to clear the path for future integration. Otherwise you will have a collection of stand alone code segments that are hard to stitch together. The classic approach is to encapsulate things in functions as much as possible. If you can develop classes, even better. The idea is to allow hiding of a lot of internal detail by providing well defined interfaces. Then there is much less chance of different elements of the program "walking on each other".
  ... with a transistor and a large sum of money to spend ...
Please don't PM me with technical questions. Post them in the forum.

Delta_G

Usually if I am developing something new you'll find a folder on my computer with about a hundred little mini-sketches in it.  Everything gets tested all by itself and then it maybe even gets tested again with just one or two other things added in and then finally there is the big file where it is all coming together.  That's the only code anyone ever sees.  But there are literally hundreds of other codes sometimes where I was testing this or that.