XBee Shield + GPS Shield = Gibberish?

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Arduino, and I am trying to get a project up and running using an Uno board, a (SparkFun) XBee and GPS shield. I'm using an XBee series 1 and an EM-406a. The XBee communicates to my computer using the SparkFun USB Explorer board over digital ports 1 and 2 (uart). My GPS is set to dline and I have it communicating over ports 2 and 3 using the newsoftserial library.

My program for the Arduino works fine if I connect to the board over USB or if I have the XBee shield stacked directly on top of the Uno. But, I'd like to put the XBee shield on top of the GPS shield so that I can easily switch the XBee off uart to program the Arduino. But, if I stack the shields like that, after the 3rd command I send to the Arduino from my computer, I get never ending gibberish in the terminal that vaguely resembles what it should output.

Anyone know what's going on here? It doesn't make sense that the order I stack the shields in should drastically alter the way my project works, does it? Thanks all!

What does the 3rd command do? Also, you said you use 1+2 for xbee and 2 + 3 for gps. Do you mean 0+1 and 2+3?

Oops, yes. I mean 0 and 1 (the default TX and RX ports).

And it's not always the third command (that's just an average, I guess). It could be before or after; I'm not sure what triggers the gibberish. But I can send it anything. My commands aren't definite. I'm sending it keystrokes through a Mac program I wrote. But again, if I plug in the USB cable and bypass the XBee or if I stack the boards Arduino -> XBee shield -> GPS shield it works fine. It's just when I put it Arduino -> GPS shield -> XBee shield that it gets messed up. Unfortunately, I need the XBee shield up top so that I can easily switch the shield from dline to uart when I need to reprogram the Arduino.