Big RGB Table Finally Needs Code

I have been working on an RGB led table for quite some time now, finally got a board designed that uses shift registers for the multiplexing, and of course the actual leds are wired and situated where they need to be. Two questions/requests:

1. I am looking to wire the control board and table together in a way so it is the easiest to program, and

2. I desperately need some help getting some code generated. I am a total beginner when it comes to shiftOut() and the SPI library. Some easy to understand code and baby-step-help would be greatly appreciated.

Below there should be a few pictures and a couple tables of how i was thinking of wiring it up.

Table Wiring.odt (14.2 KB)

Table Wiring.doc (26 KB)

Here are some more photos.

What shift register are you using? Anyway, I have an example here:

Basically you work out your pattern ... however you want to do that, and then do something like this:

digitalWrite (LATCH, LOW);
  SPI.transfer (0xAB);
  SPI.transfer (0xCD);
  SPI.transfer (0xEF);
  SPI.transfer (0x42);
  digitalWrite (LATCH, HIGH);

Add more SPI.transfer() if you have more registers. Hopefully you wired them to daisy chain.

I am using a 74HC574, not a shift register in itself, but wired to act like one so it can deliver the mA required with out having to order new chips. Q1 to D2, Q2 to D3, Q3 to D4 and so on. Yes they are indeed daisy chained. And unfortunately i have no way of knowing what that code means, I will take a look at your example tomorrow, way too many hours in front of this computer. thanks for the quick reply!
PS i was thinking for a test individually turning on each column, then waiting about half a second, then moving on to the next one, then repeat. once it gets to the end of the board switch to a different color. Start with red, then blue, then green, then the other 4 mixes of them. Food for thought.