Simplifying control of LED 2801 square pixel

Hi there,

As say others, I'm a newbie, and want to create some 'very simple' Arduino code for controlling a strip of LED pixels on a string (of 20), 4 strings connected in total. My project will eventually monitor internet data and convert this into lighting particular LED modules (I'll save the ethernet/server bits for later when I have some development support).

The bit I'd love to work out now is how can I control each LED module in the string of 80 in such a way that I can write something like '1,7,9,25' to light LED number 1, 7, 9, and 25 in the string? Obviously intensity, time, colour, etc are also important but most of the tutorials out there seem to be using more pattern-based code (to create animations for example) rather than a basic identification and control of each module in the string. The variables i would love to control are:

• Which pixel in the string I want to control
  • Whether it should be on/off
  • For how long it remains on
  • Fade in/out duration
  • Colour value

I will then look to control multiple LEDs in small groups. E.g. 3-7 LEDs at a time.

Any support or example code would be greatly appreciated so I can start experimenting with it to getting a better grasp. Things such as wiring up the Arduino, LEDs and power supply are already understood.

Many thanks!

You have one of the most used LED drivers to work with, the WS2801 (at least, I believe that's what you're referring to in your subject line.) Use FastSPI to control the string. You can leave it as one long string even (even if you cut it into four separate pieces, just connect the ends back together with wires.)

FastSPI keeps an array of the string:

NUM_LEDS = 20;
// there are some other needed lines here, but for this post they're irrelevant - get them from the FastSPI "testled" sketch.

leds[px].r = xxx;
leds[px].g = xxx;
leds[px].b = xxx;