Go Down

Topic: Maxbotix UltraSonic sensor I2C problem (Read 469 times) previous topic - next topic

Abdulaziz14

Oct 06, 2017, 07:20 pm Last Edit: Nov 08, 2017, 05:11 pm by Abdulaziz14
Hi

I have a Project for my graduation in College. It's about Smart Water Tank. The idea is to try to implement as many sensors as we can - as a group - that relate to our studies in Electrical Engineering. We have more than one problem. I don't know if I can post them all but it will be confusing. So, I will only explain this problem in this topic.

I'm using I2C Maxbotix Ultrasonic sensor ( MB7247 ) to measure the level of the water. I'm using Mega 2560. They provided the code for it, but it was for the UNO. I'm not good at programming, but I tried to use this sensor with Mega and yes I did change the pins ( SDA 20 and SCL 21) to match it to Mega. That didn't work when I upload the code. I don't know if I need to also change PORTC:

Code: [Select]
#define SCL_PIN 5              //Default SDA is Pin5 PORTC for the UNO -- you can set this to any tristate pin
#define SCL_PORT PORTC
#define SDA_PIN 4              //Default SCL is Pin4 PORTC for the UNO -- you can set this to any tristate pin
#define SDA_PORT PORTC
#include <SoftI2CMaster.h>     //You will need to install this library
//LCD part Begin
#include <Wire.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>
#define BACKLIGHT_PIN 3
/*-----( Declare Constants )-----*/
//none in original

/*-----( Declare objects )-----*/
// set the LCD address to 0x20 for a 20 chars 4 line display
// Set the pins on the I2C chip used for LCD connections:
//                    addr, en,rw,rs,d4,d5,d6,d7,bl,blpol
LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x27, 2, 1, 0, 4, 5, 6, 7, 3, POSITIVE);  // Set the LCD I2C address

/*-----( Declare Variables )-----*/
//none
//LCD part End

void setup(){
  // Initialize both the serial and I2C bus
  Serial.begin(9600); // for serial monitor 

//LCD B
  lcd.begin(20,4);
  // LCD Backlight ON
  lcd.setBacklightPin(BACKLIGHT_PIN,POSITIVE);