Go Down

Topic: Maxbotix UltraSonic sensor I2C problem (Read 169 times) previous topic - next topic

Abdulaziz14

Hi

I have a Project for my graduation in College. It's about Smart Water Tank. The idea is to try to implement as many sensors as we can - as a group - that relate to our studies in Electrical Engineering. We have more than one problem. I don't know if I can post them all but it will be confusing. So, I will only explain this problem in this topic.

I'm using I2C Maxbotix Ultrasonic sensor ( MB7247 ) to measure the level of the water. I'm using Mega 2560. They provided the code for it, but it was for the UNO. I'm not good at programming, but I tried to use this sensor with Mega and yes I did change the pins ( SDA 20 and SCL 21) to match it to Mega. That didn't work when I upload the code. I don't know if I need to also change PORTC:

Code: [Select]
#define SCL_PIN 5              //Default SDA is Pin5 PORTC for the UNO -- you can set this to any tristate pin
#define SCL_PORT PORTC
#define SDA_PIN 4              //Default SCL is Pin4 PORTC for the UNO -- you can set this to any tristate pin
#define SDA_PORT PORTC

So, I changed them to Pin 0 , Pin 1 respectively. Are those AN pins to be sure ?
I got to upload the code fine, but I got these results.
Code: [Select]
Polling addresses...
Couldn't start:2
Couldn't start:4
Couldn't start:6
Couldn't start:8
Couldn't start:10
Couldn't start:12
Couldn't start:14
Couldn't start:16
Couldn't start:18
Couldn't start:20
Couldn't start:22
Couldn't start:24
Couldn't start:26
Couldn't start:28
Couldn't start:30
Couldn't start:32
Couldn't start:34
Couldn't start:36
Couldn't start:38
Couldn't start:40
Couldn't start:42
Couldn't start:44
Couldn't start:46
Couldn't start:48
Couldn't start:50
Couldn't start:52
Couldn't start:54
Couldn't start:56
Couldn't start:58
Couldn't start:60
Couldn't start:62
Couldn't start:64
Couldn't start:66
Couldn't start:68
Couldn't start:70
Couldn't start:72
Couldn't start:74
Couldn't start:76