my first post: arduino, clock, LEDs...

hi there

this is my first post, so bear with me :wink: . I'm an architecture student and
for some time now, I'm planning a wrist watch that I initially sent into a
competition.

I would like to create this watch and develop it further by using the arduino
hardware.

I have ordered the arduino diecimilia kit and I'm just about to start learning elecronics.
I have had some contact with electronics (e.g. building a diy projector), but apart
from that, I'm quite a newb...

So here I have some questions:

• clock in general: how precise is the arduino board? do I need an extra quartz? And how would
    I use it?

• how big is the arduino mini? I've read about width and lenght (3x1 cm), but I've seen nothing
    about the height of the board...

• LEDs: I'll need to order a number of LEDs. What will I have to look at while ordering them?
    Do they need to be 5V? Or could I also order 3V LEDs? And where can I find information which
    LEDs need what kind or resistor?

• and finally: do you know of a super easy explanation of shift registers? I've read the tutorial
    on this page, but I frankly don't quite get it. I'll certainly work it out for myself, but it would
    be nice if there was an easy explanation of the concept behind it, somewhere...

sorry, I know, these are quite a lot of questions, I'm thanking
you in advance for any help you can give me!

best
yves

• clock in general: how precise is the arduino board? do I need an extra quartz? And how would
    I use it?

• how big is the arduino mini? I've read about width and lenght (3x1 cm), but I've seen nothing

• LEDs: I'll need to order a number of LEDs. What will I have to look at while ordering them?
    Do they need to be 5V? Or could I also order 3V LEDs? And where can I find information which

• and finally: do you know of a super easy explanation of shift registers? I've read the tutorial