Help choosing correct opto isolator.

I'm relatively new to electronics, and although I can hook stuff up well if I know the right components, learning to choose the correct ones for myself by trying to search through the thousands out there, reading datasheets, etc has been a massive challenge.

I'm trying to find out if there is a single opto isolator that can be triggered by the arduino, but able to pass 200-400volts on its output, and operate extremely fast (like a fraction of a millisecond or less). The purpose is for triggering a old vivitar 283 camera flash, and triggering it instantly within less than a millisecond, for high speed photography. When I measured the flash it was only putting out about 120-150 volts, but I always hear 400v as a common number when talking about similar flashes, so potentially passing 150 volts could be fine, but might be good to go with 400v for a good safety margin.

Right now I've got a goofy setup with an underrated optocoupler, linked to spare batteries to trigger an scr, etc. I'm having many issues with it (right now an issue of having a very considerable delay). I'm hoping to simplify this and just use a single optocoupler, but the problem is I've spent hours upon hours reading through all sorts of different datasheets, most of which I barely understand, and can hardly tell if any are even close to what I need.

Can anyone help suggest one that has an input current low enough for arduino, and output current high enough for the flash, the speed to operate as fast as possible (less than a millisecond), and hopefully not too hard to find or expensive? Thanks.

Triac opto-isolators are often used to trigger a bigger triac, as the triac in the little DIL package is not usually up to much.

The LED side of the isolator usually doesn't need more than 10mA to trigger it, and your Arduino can put out 40mA per pin, so just use a series resistor, as you would any other LED.