Newbie Question re Interrupts

So I'm brand new to the world of programming and have a small project where I'm reading the value of a push button, printing the result on the Serial Monitor, and turning on an LED. Within the program I also want to debounce the signal and have an interrupt that prevents the program from continuously checking the input pin. I've tried to do some searching/Googling/Youtubing but just can't seem to find an explanation that fullfills my understanding. My code is below and what I'm asking is what should I place in the function I'm calling (tagt) to make it so that my program only checks the pin when the button is depressed, preventing my Serial monitor from ALWAYS polling that pin?

/**********************************************************/
/* READ A PUSH BUTTON, PRINT TO SM, DEBOUNCE, INTERRUPT   */
/**********************************************************/

/***********************************/
/*        DECLARE VARIABLES        */
/***********************************/

int push_pin = 2;  // Push button on digital pin 2
int led = 8;       // LED on digital pin 8
int val;          // value to store the state of the push button
int val2;         // value to store the state of the push button to cross reference for the debounce
int button_state;  // variable need for the debouncing

/********************************************/
/* BEGIN SERIAL COMS, SET PINMODES, ADD VARS*/
/********************************************/

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600); //setup Serial coms @ 9600 baud
  while (! Serial);  // Needed for Leonardo
  pinMode(push_pin, INPUT);  //set the push pin as an input
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);    //set the LED as an output
  button_state = digitalRead(push_pin);    //store the push pin state in the button_state variable
  attachInterrupt(1, tagt, RISING);
}

/***************************************/
/* SETUP LOOP, SM PRINTING, DEBOUNCING */
/***************************************/

void loop()
{