Where should i look; request guidance for learning.

Hi people, i started playing guitar when i was 13. As every guitarist i love effect pedals :). Then i decided to start making electronic music. All the VSTs amazed me, envelopes, filters, oscillators.
My question is, in which field should i look into to learn how to manipulate sound waves in hardware with real parts, like understanding how an equaliser is built (how it works, what happens if i replace a resistor from 10k to 100k.), like understanding an oscillator - sine triangle square sawtooth. Filters lowpass highpass, bandpass. Distortion, modulation. all of those things im very interested in. Its easy in software you just click click click, but i want to learn to make it. Bad news is if i want to learn this and see what im doing - i should get an oscilloscope and they are a bit expensive.
Im new in electronics, but im learning fast. I have my arduino from 1 month and i almost made my first big project - a MIDI controller DJ mixer with the help of a friend of course. (im pretty deep in the MIDI things, but ask me to make something else and im blind).

Hi,
I'm an old Broadcast and Recording Studio designer, but I need to help you find today's answers, not yesterdays.

I will check with my friend who designed equipment recently and teaches in Canada, to suggest a good book from today.

Send me a PM or email and I'll point to some of my older books....

The basic things you need to learn about are:

• Operational Amplifiers
  • Filter design
  • Some recent effects pedals designs...
  • And later, Digital Signal Processors

A PC-based Oscilloscope would be fast enough for any audio stuff....

...more later...

Regards, Terry King ...In The Woods In Vermont terry@yourduino.com

This is highly recommended:

UPDATE: Suggestions from my friend in Canada:
---------------------( COPY )--------------------------
I would point him to these places: