Detecting a motor brake for a brushed DC motor

Hello All,
I'm a newbie in the Arduino world, and generally in the electronic world. I'm mainly developer but want to open myself to the electronics
I've bought a discovering kit, and made the exercises, very interesting
So now as a first project, i wanted to create my own light kit (led of course) for an RC car, called Mini-Z from Kyosho. As you can imagine, i don't come to you to bright a led, my problem is the braking detection
The Mini-Z is a small RC car with a complete PCB for the whole electronic, so i've no access easily to signals like PWM (PPM), the car run on 4 AAA batteries, so 6v max, the motor, 130 sized will consume max, say 2A at blocking
Basically i know the motor direction can be detected by the direction of the current, and the braking can be detected by a short circuit between motor leads. So my problem is : How can i connect the motor to my arduino without burning the arduino, without interfere with the motor run, and with a chance to detect the motor behaviour?
Existing light kits have leads that connect in parallel the light kit and the motor leads, but i don't imagine what are the consequences if i make the same things to connect one lead to GND and one lead to an input (my mind says: "Don't do that, you will burn something with that current")

I hope you can help me

Thanks in advance

Sna

Lets assume the motors generate some high voltage spikes and play safe. Each side of the motor can go to a 2:1 resistive divider (say two 10k resistors) to bring the 0..6V range within the reach of Arduino's analog inputs (and protect a bit against abnormally high voltages). Then add a small capacitor to ground for each signal, perhaps 10 to 100nF to reduce high frequency noise. To further protect the Arduino's inputs we can also have 3V9 zener diodes across the capacitor (although the 10k of the resistive divider is going to protect a lot).