debouncing + interrupt ?

Hi, im quite new to arduino, and im having a bit of a problem in implementing a debounced interrupt.
So i have 4 leds, which are programmed to light based on a pattern i coded into an array. I have to "pause" the pattern using the pushbutton. However, when i release the button, the result is not always what i expect it to be. Like it jumps to the next pattern, or resets the cycle.

Do you guys have any suggestions for this? I have my attached my code so you can comment on it. Thanks. :slight_smile:

const int buttonPin = 2;     
int led = 13;
int led0 = 12; 
int led1 = 11;
int led2 = 10;
//               0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10
int ledArr [] = {0,0,0,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1};
int ledArr0[] = {0,0,0,1,0,0,0,1,1,1,1};
int ledArr1[] = {0,0,1,0,0,0,1,0,0,1,1};
int ledArr2[] = {0,1,0,0,0,1,0,0,1,0,1};

volatile int  i;
int j = 0;
volatile int buttonState = 0;             
int lastButtonState = LOW;   

long lastDebounceTime = 0;  
long debounceDelay = 40;    

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT); 
  pinMode(led0, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led2, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(buttonPin, LOW);
  attachInterrupt(0, doNothing, RISING);

}

void loop() {
  ledPattern();

}

void debounceThis(){
  int reading = digitalRead(buttonPin);
  if (reading != lastButtonState) {

lastDebounceTime = millis();
  } 

if ((millis() - lastDebounceTime) > debounceDelay) {   
    buttonState = reading;
  } 
  lastButtonState = reading;

}

void ledPattern(){
    for (i = 0; i < 11; i++){ 
      debounceThis();
      if(buttonState == 0){
      delay(400);
      digitalWrite(led2, ledArr[i]);
      digitalWrite(led1, ledArr0[i]);
      digitalWrite(led0, ledArr1[i]);
      digitalWrite(led, ledArr2[i]);

Serial.println(i);  
     }
  }

}

void doNothing(){
 buttonState != buttonState;
 Serial.print("i during ISR: ");
 Serial.println(i);

}

EXER2.ino (1.41 KB)

Serial.print in an ISR ?

NO !