led project need wutever help i can get

hello.. my names todd and im quite new to a project i had in mind.. i have no clue what to purchse or were to even start .. the project i was looking to do was add LEDs to somthing.. basicly a row of 6 indivual LEDs (not strips) ..1inch apart..mayvbe 7 rows .. what i want the LEDS to do is a bunch of different settings such as beat or pulse to music , also i want the leds to randomly sparkle/twinkle like randomly all over liek stars .. also i would like the LEDs to light from one end to the other kinda like a wave.. and possibly change color .. now i have no clue how many LEDS i can use becasue i dont kno how many i can run at one time off of a chip or even which chip i can use with the settings i mentioned above. .. also wut i need is for everything to be portable and run off of a battery pack .. i have no clue wut parts or were to begin

thanx so much every one

you got a long way to go buddy.
you will need to look into led matrixing
do some searches on this site and google for:
led matrix
shift registers
arduino arrays
and that will give you an idea of what you think that you about to do..
you have to learn alot about arduino before you can just make a led matrix.
and also, how good are you at soldering?
if you are brave, you can also look into charlieplexing
lots and lots of reading you will have to do. especially if you are new to arduino like me!
there are premade sketches and plans for them out there but, well, um... you just have to find out for yourself.. best of luck to you!

if you not know what to make, you can search on youtube many examples

in the meantime buy an UNO and and some handful of leds, breadboard resistors (starters kit) and go experimenting, do the sketches on the tutorial pages of arduino.cc and you will learn a lot.