PCB Layout review

Hello -

I was hoping to get some feedback on my PCB design - this is my first attempt at having a PCB manufactured. I re-routed this board maybe 15 times and I hope I finally got it right! Also want to make sure i am not doing anything blatantly wrong. I did have to redo and shrink the layout a few times to get it to 10cm x 10cm for the PCB fab.

What it is - This will be my controller for my aquarium hood.

• Atmega168 with arduino bootloader
  • MCP23008 GPIO controls 7 TIP120 transistors: 3 to turn on and off relays, the remaining 4 control 12VDC fans. The fan headers are on the right, each of the 4 circuits drives 900 mA.
  • DS1307 real time clock, also on the i2c bus
  • TLV2374 rail to rail op-amp attached to PWM pins from Arduino. These are for 3 0-10 VDC outputs which control the dimming of my T5 Ballasts.
  • 2 voltage divider circuits on the analog inputs with thermistors, to measure the temperature of the hood and the water.
  • the remaining pins of the arduino route to a header for buttons, encoders, LCD, etc.
  • input is regulated 12VDC, on the lower left of the board is the voltage regulator circuit.

i only had small breadboards, so my prototype is a bit of a mess, but it works.

Here is the prototype:

Here is a picture of the layout and links to the Eagle Schematic & Board layout

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/57349766/Fish/LC.4.sch

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/57349766/Fish/LC.4.brd

I still need to complete putting labels on all the parts. Any feedback, comments, etc is appreciated.

Also, i wanted to ask, should i add decoupling caps to all the IC's or are the caps near the regulator circuit sufficient?

should i add decoupling caps to all the IC's

Yes.

First thought, if possible (and it seems that it is) I would align the mounting holes so they are square, currently they appear to be in random locations.

Rob

Should also add ground plane.

florinc:
Should also add ground plane.