Urgent !!: Beginner help needed with serial communication..

Hi all,

I am new to arduino & programming. I want to send Hex data thru TX pin and read it at RX pin. TX and RX are connected externally by wire. Below is my code:

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
int note = 0x2CA1;
int incoming = 0x00;
delay(100);
Serial.write(note);
Serial.print("I sent: ");
Serial.println(note, HEX);
if (Serial.available() > 0) {
delay(50);
// read the incoming byte from TX at RX:
incomingByte = Serial.read();
// say what you got:
Serial.print("I received: ");
Serial.println(incoming, HEX);
}
}

Here is the output:

I sent: 2CA1
I received: 49

No matter what hex data I transmit, the RX pin always reads 49. I am confused as to why is this happening. I want the RX pin to read the same data that is being transmitted via TX. Please HELP !!! :~ :~ :~

Thanks

Infrax

Are you catching the final 1 of "0x2CA1"? (which you don't seem to be sending as hex). 1 is char 49 in ASCII?

I tried sending other hex data like 0x1E or 0x2F but I still get 49.

It doesn't matter what hex data I send, it always shows 49 at RX !!

I ran your code (I had to change incomingByte to just incoming as I think that's what you meant) also - all of your variables are integers. I have no idea what you are trying to achieve but I got a lot of different values coming out once I'd made the required changes. I'm not entirely sure what to expect as you seem to want to use the same serial lines for two things at once.

Yes you are correct. The "incomingByte" had to be changed to "incoming". But when you run the code initially, you will get lots of different values for sometime (due to noise), but the result finally stabilizes to 49. It takes about 1 min.

I tried initializing variables as byte but I get the same result.