C++ problem with pure virtual method

I am a fairly experienced C++ programmer, but this has me stumped. I am trying to make a generic class for button debouncing, and then derive from that a class specific to an analog touch sensor I made. But when my base class DebouncedButton tries to call a pure virtual method isButtonPressed(), the compiler barks at me like an angry German Shepherd:

o: In function DebouncedButton::update()': undefined reference to __cxa_pure_virtual'

The line of code it does not like is marked with "//!!!!!" below. Am I doing something wrong, or does this compiler not support pure virtual methods?

/*
    touch_sensor.pde  -  Don Cross  -  http://cosinekitty.com

Experiment with interfacing darlington-pair touch sensor to analog input on atmega8.
*/

//-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

class DebouncedButton {
public:
    DebouncedButton (unsigned _debounceTimeInMilliseconds):
        stableButtonState (false),  // assume button starts out released
        debounceTimeInMilliseconds (_debounceTimeInMilliseconds)
    {
    }

void update()
    {
        // Check current sensor reading...
        bool sample = isButtonPressed();      //!!!!!
        unsigned long now = millis();

// Is the current state different from the last stable state?
        if (sample == stableButtonState) {
            // might still be bouncing around, so restart debounce timer
            lastBounceTime = now;
        } else {
            unsigned long elapsed = now - lastBounceTime;
            if (elapsed > debounceTimeInMilliseconds) {
                // the state has changed, and appears stable, so toggle the state now...
                stableButtonState = sample;
                if (stableButtonState) {
                    onPress();
                } else {
                    onRelease();
                }
            }
        }
    }