Quick question about PC interface passing data to Arduino

Hey guys,
So I'm completely new to Arduino, however, otherwise a relatively intermediate coder. I'm working on a project in which a soil moisture sensor detects when a plant needs watering and then texts/emails the user to alert them.

Basically, I want an interface which will be used on first setup of the sensor, here the user can input a name/ID for the sensor to identify which plant it is, as-well as their email address and phone number to receive the alerts on, this will only need to be run once.

The Arduino will NOT be constantly plugged into the computer and will instead be used in a wall socket.

My question is, what would be the best method of implementing an interface? And how do you get user input and then pass that to the arduino to be used in the program.

Thanks a lot,
Imm

How does the user know how many plants/sensors there are?

I would set up a webpage which all the plants/sensors listed. Next to each would be an empty box to enter an email address and a box to enter a telephone number. Perhaps a drop down box to determine frequency of notification.

Then click submit.

The Arduino would take those values and use them.

If you want to send SMS you will need a GSM shield. To send emails, you would need an Ethernet shield.

Just some initial thoughts.

ieee488:
How does the user know how many plants/sensors there are?

I would set up a webpage which all the plants/sensors listed. Next to each would be an empty box to enter an email address and a box to enter a telephone number. Perhaps a drop down box to determine frequency of notification.

Then click submit.

The Arduino would take those values and use them.

If you want to send SMS you will need a GSM shield. To send emails, you would need an Ethernet shield.

Just some initial thoughts.

Thanks for that, I have a GSM shield and also a WIFI shield, is it possible to have an android app communicate with the arduino via USB?