***SOLVED*** Atmel-based Arduinos and the Mac: Serial Ports not displaying

As a relative newcomer to the Arduino, I've been struggling for days without success trying to get a new Arduino Uno R3 board working on my Mac. I'm reposting in hopes someone can assist. I can't help but think of all of the wonderfully creative people (including 4 of 8 people at a recent Intro to Arduino course I took) who want to build interesting projects ranging from sound analyzers to interactive art installations...who all have a Mac.

My background: I've been using PCs of some sort since 1979 and I've made my living in the tech industry for 32 years. Not a lot of dense programming experience, but I've been around my fair share of systems configuration work since Day 1.

If I can't figure this out, there is a problem with the ecosystem in which Arduino is purporting to operate. More than a new IDE, someone should set their sights on solving what appears to be a chronic problem.

Here's what I've done or learned:

1. The Arduino Uno R3 and some clone versions of the Nano run Atmel 16U communications chips that do not require a discrete software-based driver, but rather have a firmware-based driver. You will therefore not find a driver for the Mac for the Atmel chipset. You should also ignore all advice related to FTDI drivers, as this is not an FTDI-based chipset.

2. I have installed both Java 6 SE (Apple's distribution) from here.

3. I have verified the Java 6 SE install via > java -version from the terminal command line. I get this result:

java version "1.6.0_65"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_65-b14-466.1-11M4716)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.65-b04-466.1, mixed mode)

I did note that it is running in 64-bit mode. I've looked for ways to force 32-bit mode to try that, but no avail. Not sure if that would matter anyway.