Servos, Motor Drivers and Outside Control Systems

First off, yes I realize answers to my questions are probably already on this forum but I have already tried searching them and have gotten no where due to the inefficiency of the search engine on the site.

I am currently using an Arduino Duemilanove provided by my school for an ROV or underwater robot for an upcoming MATE Robotics competition. I have never used Arduino before so am still learning all its different functions. I got past the connection issues that seem to be so common and have gotten the blink program to run just fine. But now I am having trouble running the "Sweep" sample Servo program provided with the software and servos are critical to the robot. I followed the instructions for connecting the servo with the power and ground pins hooked up to the power and ground on the board and the signal pin to digital 9 but when I uploaded the program I got 3 small ~50 turns in one direction and then nothing happened. Can anyone tell me what might be happening that is messing it up? I need to fix it so I can continue with learning how to program servos for the functions I need to accomplish.

Next I have 6 propulsion motors and 1 claw motor all hooked up to SyRen motor drivers. But I am confused as to how I would send a signal from the Arduino to these to tell the motors to go forwards or backwards. Is it just a simple power signal sent from a digital port to the driver? If so then how would I achieve a reverse function? If anyone has ever worked with Motor controllers/drivers with Arduino before and could tell me how to set it up and the basics of how a program for it would run that would be extremely helpful.