An Arduino Beginner: How Feasible is this Project for my Skills?

Hi Everyone.

I've been interested in Microcontrollers and Arduino in particular for a long time, but I've not come in practice with it nor with any other kind of microcontrollers before. However, during this term as an electrical engineering student, I've a complete course on PIC Microcontrollers which focuses on the architecture and development of PIC, including practical applications and design that we should have to work on considerably in lab using C and Assembly programming languages.

As I've become an electronics hobbyist since over a year starting from the moment I've joined the department of electrical engineering -I was hoping that I could have started doing hobby electronics from the time I was in the secondary school, but in my society, you can't find a source/organization/person that guides and inspires you to start doing these things, unlike other societies like in America for example. Anyway, I'm catching up very well and I've decided to self-develop myself into the famous microcontroller, Arduino.

I've ordered Sparkfun's Inventor Kit product and it's coming probably this week. My problem is that we've an Engineering Design course and my Professor wants all teams to work on projects that are limited to Solar Power and Shapes Memory Alloys. I decided that I do some search on the web to look for projects that include a microcontroller within a solar power project and I found a lot on solar tracking using Arduino. From my search, I've concluded that the project is feasible as there's a lot of documentation from different hobbyists, even some source codes are available.