DC power for USB Arduino

Hi, I have searched everywhere but can't find an asnwer for this... so my apologies for this basic question:

What sort of DC power adaptor / supply should I use with the USB Arduino? What Voltage? or other details... any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm an electronics newbie.

The Arduino USB and serial boards needs a power adapter with approximately these specs:

• a 9VDC to 12V DC 'wall wart' adapter, rated 500Ma or more
  • the connector is a 2.1mm dc power plug,
  • the connector need to be 'centre pin positive'

A possible part number in North America:

JAMECO Electronics (California)
Jameco 202201PS $4.90 USD in quantities of ten or more.

That said, you probably have something lying around that will work. Find a plug that fits the jack, with bare wires. Then, find a 9 or 12V DC 'wall wart' supply, and connect its wires to the connector's wires. The centre pin must connect to the positive side of the power supply. Reverse polarity is not a huge issue, since the Arduino incorporates a blocking diode to protect against this-- but you might want to remove the ATMEGA chip while gettting things right.

Of course, if I have any of this wrong, Massimo will correct me.. Massimo?

What 'battery/cell' configuration should I use if I want to maintain the portability? Also if there is a bluetooth version coming how is it powered?

Thanks

Thanks Daniel, I had searched for this information and couldn't find a clear answer, only snippets. Being an electronics newbie I really appreciate the help as I start to slowly piece together some electrical understanding. Cheers! :slight_smile:

Sure, you can use battery power easily: just connect a 9 to 12V battery supply to a connector that fits the Arduino power jack. Be sure to observe the polarity: plus goes to the centre pin.