IR frequency

This might be a super noob question, but I can't seem to figure it out and I'm up against a deadline. I'm working on a project for school where I'm making like a shooting gallery type project. The "bullet" will be the IR beam and the "target" will be the IR receiver. I've looked at IR LEDs and the receivers. The receivers receive specific frequencies, but the IR LEDs only show the wavelengths. How can I be certain that I match the correct LED with the receivers? Is the frequency controlled by the board the LED is attached to?

Please help me........ :~

look up 38khz 555 timer or 38khz Arduino

Duane B

Thanks! I'm looking it up now. I'm fairly new to the world of electronics so figuring out what to use and with what is fairly difficult for me to understand right now. I don't have any books I'm learning from either so the internet is my only guide. Hopefully I'll learn it the right way.

I just ordered a Teensy board (Teensy® 2.0) which uses the ATMEGA32U4 processor. I will be researching this more, but are you familiar with this board or know if I can use it to set the frequency of the IR? I don't need a long extended answer at this point, but if you know it can or can't be done then it could save me some research time.

Thanks so much for your help!

The receivers receive specific frequencies, but the IR LEDs only show the wavelengths.

The wavelength that you are referring to above is that of the light being emitted by the LED.

The frequency that you are referring to above is the rate at which the LED is being turned on and off.

So you wind up with an LED that is being turned on and off at a high frequency. During the time that it is on it emits light at a certain wavelength.

Don

...and don't try to relate the modulation frequency measured in kHz, with the actual frequency of the light measured in THz.