datalogger for counter sensor.

Hello guys! Newbie here in arduino. I wish i could get some help from here. The idea of my datalogger is that it will log a value whenever someone passes a sensor. It is like when a voltage or pulse was sense then it will count as one. I have edited this program by jeremy blum oh his tutorial. The thing is that its way of datalogging is like reading a potentiometer in which the voltage passes through and convert it to analog value. As we all know you can only put a delay on that which makes it log every value of the delay so it logs also even there is no voltage. Plus i want the reading to output a standard value like one(1) when someone passes by

feel free to ask if you are not enlighten on my concept.

//Program by Jeremy Blum
//www.jeremyblum.com
//SD Card Demonstration
//Some code from public domain work by Tom Igoe
//Edited by Ignacio D. Villanueva III

#include <SD.h>         //SD Card Library

//SPI SD Card Pins
  //MOSI = Pin 11
  //MISO = Pin 12
  //SCLK = PIN 13
  int CS_pin = 10;
  int pow_pin = 8;

//Honeybee Sensor Pins

int sense_pin= 0;
  int sense_pin1= 3;

float refresh_rate = 0.0;  //Dataloger Refresh Rate
long id = 1;                //Use this to store the id # of our reading.

void setup()
{

Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("Initializing Card");
  //CS Pin is an output
  pinMode(CS_pin, OUTPUT);

//SD Card will Draw Power from Pin 8, so set it high
  pinMode(pow_pin, OUTPUT);  
  digitalWrite(pow_pin, HIGH);

//Initialize Card
  if (!SD.begin(CS_pin))
  {
      Serial.println("Card Failure");
      return;
  }
  Serial.println("Card Ready");

//Read the Configuration information (COMMANDS.txt)
  File commandFile = SD.open("COMMANDS.txt");
  if (commandFile)
  {
    Serial.println("Reading Command File");

float decade = pow(10, (commandFile.available() - 1));
    while(commandFile.available())
    {
      float temp = (commandFile.read() - '0');
      refresh_rate = temp*decade+refresh_rate;