which servo would be suitable

Hi I have never used a servo before but I am very interested in getting some and trying to eventually make a biped robot (long way off I am sure).
As my funds are limited i don't want to just buy the cheapest weakest ones around only to need more to buy more expensive more suitable ones later.
Im thinking a biped no more than a foot tall, made out of something light weight. Any questions or ideas very much appreciated.

cheers

Bluenosedwill:
Hi I have never used a servo before but I am very interested in getting some and trying to eventually make a biped robot (long way off I am sure).
As my funds are limited i don't want to just buy the cheapest weakest ones around only to need more to buy more expensive more suitable ones later.
Im thinking a biped no more than a foot tall, made out of something light weight. Any questions or ideas very much appreciated.

cheers

For a biped (or really any legged robot), you'll want your servos to be full ball bearing servos with all metal gearing. In other words, expect to spend around $50.00 USD or more per servo. This is because there is going to be a lot of weight and mass being moved; the servos need to be able to move (and stop!) such large masses, and the support of such mass (by the output shafts) need to be robust. Sleeve bearings (oilite - or on the real cheap servos - plastic) will wear out very quickly which is why you go for ball bearing servos.

Other ideas:

Your leg servos are going to need to be fairly robust; standard sized or larger. Arm servos, on the other hand - you might be able to get away with standard sized servos for the shoulder, and possibly smaller and cheaper servos for the elbow and/or hand/wrist - because not as much weight or such will be put on these parts (except when recovering from a fall, that is).