Go Down

Topic: Xbee+Arduino+receiving more than 1 packet at once. (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

aliceguzman

Hi...this is my first time posting... but i've gotten a lot of help from the forum  :)

So... my final project consists of 3 robots that need to get to a certain point, however, on the way to this point, they're going to find some obstacles, some of which they can't avoid by themselves.

For example, if one of them gets stuck in some sort of gap, that one sends a help message to another one, and that one switches from searching the main point, to searching his partner.

Each one of the robots has an arduino Mega and I'm using Xbees for the communication. I'm using Rapp's library.
I also have another Xbee connected to my computer (let's call it 'base').

Each robot is constantly asking the base for its rssi. That way the robot has an idea wether it is close or far from the base. Also, as I mentioned, if one of them gets stuck, it sends a help message to another one.

I'm also sending updates messages regarding what each robot is doing to the base (I have an app in c# that prints these updates).

So...my problem is this... most of the times...when the robot asks for help...the other one just doesn't get the message...
I've managed to find out it is because when I'm waiting for the value of the rssi I receive the pcket for help... and that function originally didn't process the type of packet that is the help packet...however...when I added that part...it still did not work...

Any comments?  :-/   :'(

PaulS

RSSI (Relative Signal Strength Indicator) is not terribly accurate. The relative distances between two robots that are in close proximity to the base, and base, is not going to be distinguishable.

For example, if one of them gets stuck in some sort of gap, that one sends a help message to another one, and that one switches from searching the main point, to searching his partner.