microSD doesn't initialise on this TFT shield. It's standard pins 10 – 13.

Hi,

I bought this TFT Touch shield on eBay 261120303957 which also has a micro SD Slot. The provided lib/examples work with the TFT and Touchscreen but not with the microSD.

I actually posted here noob: Shield w/ spfd5408 controller 240x320 - I don't know which library - #9 by system - Displays - Arduino Forum but it doesn't get any further on the SD issue so I switched to the Storage Forum. Libs from the seller are here https://www.yousendit.com/download/WUJaVWR1K3huSlJFQmNUQw

The seller provided libs for Arduino 0.23. I think they are the standard Libs. My EthernetShield works instantly. The Ethernet also works with the new SD libs provided with 1.0.2. The SD part of the TFT shield doesen't work with any version.

I am not a pro. But when I compared the provided 0.23 with the current 1.0.2 libs there's no big difference except some additional functions (multiple files) and things which change from 0.23 to 1.0. So I think the seller just threw those SD libs in.

According to the shield the pins used should be standard 10 to 13. Here is a picture of the pin out. Imgur: The magic of the Internet

10 SS
11 DI
12 DO
13 SCK

In the examples of the standard SD lib Pin 4 is used as CS. But as I understood this is for the ethernetshields and it switches between the SD and the ethernet chip. So I think Pin 4 should not be used as CS on the TFT shield as there are no two Chips like on the Ethernet shield.

Anyway I tried SD.begin(4), SD.begin(10) and SD.begin() but I could not get the crad initialized.

Any ideas? Anything I could check?

Thx n rgds
tmg