Digital power switch?

Hi,
I'm really new to Arduino, and currently working with a project in which I'm looking for a way to digitally control power supply for an old television (just on/off).

While the TV obviously demands more power than 5 volts. I figured an easy solution would be something like mounting a "digital" On/Off switch on the power cord that goes into the wall, which i can trigger (on/off) with a digital out pin from Arduino.

Is there such a device? Or am I trying to do this in a stupid way? :slight_smile:

Appreciate any help i can get.

a simple way is to use a relay to control the tv on and off. just look for any relay shield would be suffice.

There are digitally controlled power switching solutions like this that will keep you safely away from the high voltage, if you are careful: https://www.adafruit.com/products/268

Anything above 5 volts can kill your Arduino, and 110VAC can definitely ruin your day, so do be careful and read up on electrical safety before embarking on any high-voltage work.

-br

The relay idea will of course work -- it's what's in the product I pointed to -- but I wouldn't recommend running live 110volt AC power on any board to a newbie to electronics. The cost of small mistakes is too high. Too much possibility of getting hurt.

-br

sorry billroy if my post offended you. At the time of me posting my post i didnt saw your post. and yes is true, i should have not gave any recommendation that could endanger someone.

No offense taken, sir. Your advice was valid but a little incomplete on the safety side :wink:

Best regards,

-br

Hi,
Thank you very much for your help. As you said, I am definitely a beginner at this so i really should really read-up on the possible hazards before doing this.

The powerswitch tail looks easy to use and is a very good tip. (while i probably need a 230v version in that case, I'm living in Europe and we have a 230v electric system.)