Music Box

This is going to be my first project with arduinos and I was wonder how to get started.

I wanted to make a box that when opened will play a MP3 file on a SD Card over speakers. I was searching around and it looks like Arduino Nano and its MP3 add-on is what I'm looking for. I was curious as to what else I might need. I was thinking battery (What kind of batteries work, if at all, with Arduinos: AA, D?) powered if that's possible. What would be a good speaker for this and should I get an amplifier? What devices could I implement to signal the arduino to play when the box is opened. Is there a starter kit I could maybe look into with a couple wires and other things I might need?

I'm sorry for being noobish or demanding but I'm just starting out and I know absolutely nothing about circuitry, hardware, or electricity. I've always been more of a software guy. So any help is very appreciated. Arduinos seem very interesting and I plan on playing with them a lot. I don't know if my project is something a beginner should be taking on so if there are any projects anyone can recommend for me to get my feet wet with that would be cool too.

What kind of batteries work, if at all, with Arduinos: AA, D?

If you mean to power the Arduino, 9V battery is good.

Why are you starting a project so advanced (in my opinion) and call yourself a beginner at electronics? I have been playing with Arduino for 5 months, and one my most "advanced" projects was a model password door lock! And I still have issues: http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,105395.0.html.

Super noob here as well :cold_sweat: