Multiplexing dual 7segment diplays

Hi there,

I'm a relative newbie to programming and electronics, with a lot of perseverance I've built my own Arduino controlled home brewery and now my attention has turned to serving the beer! I've got a beer fridge (kegerator) with 4 taps and want to display the amount left in each keg. I'm concentrating on the display first.

I've got 4 CC and 4CA dual segment displays:

I also have a bunch of 74HC595N shift registers. From my research I believe its possible to drive each display via a '595 and PNP / NPN transistors to sink /source current, depending on which type of display is used (not forgetting current limiting resistors on each data pin on the display). I really could do with some pointers as to a schematic using a 328 Arduino chip, I've seen loads of different ways to drive 7 segment displays and I'm a wee bit baffled by it all!

Cheers,
Jamie

You can use a 74595 as you describe, 1 chip per digit and load all the bits as needed for common-anode or common cathode each time you want to update the display. Or you can use a single 74595 to drive the segments, and an IO pin (with a transistor) for each digit and quickly scan through all the digits repeatedly; that's a bit easier hardware-wise, a bit harder code-wise.

There are also chips like the 7447 which will take your digit in BCD on 4 inputs and decode the 7-segment font to drive a single digit.

The easiest way, in my opinion, is to use a MAX7219 which will drive up to 8 common-cathode digits from a single chip needing 3 IO pins on your controller. You simply set the values the digits should display and the chip takes care of the rest including constant current drive. There is an LedControl library available which makes this route extremely easy.

Many thanks Oracle, I've just ordered a couple of MAX7219 samples from Maxim and will have a play.

Cheers,
Jamie

MAX7219 are for common cathode displays.
It is a nice chip.