Eddy Current coin detector

Hello!

I'm new to the world of Arduino, so far I've only done a few simple blinking LED projects with buttons and such.

I'm looking to create a setup that will detect what type of US coin has been rolled down a ramp using a magnetic field and the eddy current interactions for a physics project. Basically, I want something pretty similar to this: Eddy Current Coin Identification - YouTube

I was looking to use two IR photogates to determine the speed of the coin (simply the time difference between when photogate 1 and two are tripped) and then I was going to use an Adafruit 16x2 LCD display to show the time it took to travel from photogate 1 to 2 and then display what sort of coin it is by comparing the time to a known range of values.

My question is, how do I find an accurate difference in time between tripping photogate 1 and 2? The absolute time is irrelevant, I just need a good delta t. I've looked around and I'm not sure if loops will be fast enough, and I'm a little unsure of my other options.

I feel confident in doing the comparison and display of the type of coin once the delta t is calculated but I'm a little stuck on the first part.

Thanks in advance for any help!!

Hi,

You can use the function millis()

This returns a long which is the milliseconds since the Arduino last reset (well pretty much).

So, in pseudo code:

when trigger1 tripped 
    t1 = millis()
when trigger2 tripped
    t2 = millis()
    dt = t2 - t1
    display dt on LCD

You could use interrupt driven coding to get very accurate timing. 8)
Attach your photo eyes to the interrupt inputs. Use the micros() function to get times.
pseudo code kind of:

INT0 :
micros() > stack.
Count+

INT1:
if Count > 0
Micros() > endTime
Pop stack > startTime
Set EventFlag
Count -
Main:
If EventFlag
do calculations
clear flag

Other stuff like display