Simple Eye Movement Help

Hi there,

I'm an illustration student planning on making a very slightly animatronic silicone doll for my degree show. Now, I thought I had enough time to teach myself enough Arduino to accomplish what I set out to do, but it's now 17 days until hand ins and because of some technical and post-office related hitches with my moulding process I haven't got round to writing the program for the animatronics.

What I originally wanted to do was have a head up/down mechanism, eyes l/r, up/down and ears forward and back but I quickly realised this was unrealistic (and expensive) and I quickly reduced it down to the eyes simply moving left, right, up and down. Here was my hardware layout for the eye movement, based on one of WilletFX's designs.

I have made the rig and tested it with a servo sweep - it works well! It's just my basic, basic knowledge of arduino hardware means I am constantly terrified I might explode my servos because I didn't put in the right resistor or something. It takes me a lot of brain power to get my head around engineering and right now I'm focussing it all on getting my portfolio polished, blah blah...

I do however know how to connect up one servo, so I've reduced the movement yet again to just... left and right. (I got a strange mini breadboard with my starter kit and I'm not sure how it works :S) What I've come here to ask is if anyone would be willing to write a few short and simple lines of code to move the servo randomly (and slowly) to mimic eye movement. I can do the wiring for this one, messily but well enough for the exhibition.

If anyone wants to tackle two servos and try and help me set up the wiring I would be forever appreciative. I have a lot of electrical gubbins I bought for the project but no brain behind it really! I know this is a lot to ask because it would be so much simpler in real life but I learn quickly and I am willing and able to accept any advice or abuse you have for me!