Pinewood Derby Christmas Tree - Laptop RS232 PINS 4 and 5

I am new to Arduino and looking forward to my first project. I am replacing the relay system in a Pinewood Derby Christmas Tree Start gate that was run off a Parallel Port in the past. The old relays caught on fire during its final race of use. The software used for running the Pinewood Derby race no longer uses parallel ports. It now relies on the use of a RS232 serial port to trigger either a start gate solenoid or a Christmas Tree that fires a solenoid at end of its routine. The only options are using a Serial COM port in windows using either PIN 4 or 7 with PIN 5 as the ground. The output voltage is 6.11v when on and -5.65V when off.

I am trying to determine what additional work and electronics I will need to connect to an Arduino. I was looking to use an Arduino UNO as my starting point connecting to an 8 Channel DC 5V Relay Module to trigger the AC light on the Tree and close the circuit to release the solenoid that relases the Pinewood cars and starts the timer.

Hi, what is a "Pinewood Derby Christmas Tree". Aren't all christmas trees made of pinewood? Or are they Spruce....

What is being raced?

Paul

Hi, as in Drag Race Christmas tree, and a pinewood model type car.
Phew, had to dig for that.. you get to the internet sites yet nobody wants to tell you what this sort of racing is.

Even wiki hasn't got a picture of what it is.

Tom.... :slight_smile:

I should have been more specific. The tree is the start lights used in a drag race to start the cars. The cars are made from pinewood and are released by solenoid and powered purely by gravity. I have attached an image of a starting tree. The tree is purely a cosmetic accessory to the race as all cars start at the same time when the solenoid releases the start gate. For those interested here is a link to a POV of an actual race https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/11333924/00021.m4v

tree.jpg