kurtosis calculations on an analog signal

Hey! I am very new to arduino, so please bear with me. I am working on a project where I am taking a sine wave (1V amplitude, 100 Hz) from a function generator, sending it through to my arduino uno by using the ReadAnalogVoltage example, performing kurtosis on a 30 second interval of these samples, and then wirelessly transmitting this information to a nearby laptop using XBee protocol.

What I am struggling with is programming the Arduino. After getting the input voltages from the ReadAnalogVoltage, I have no idea how to program the board so it calculates the kurtosis over a 30sec interval and then how to send those values. Any help or links would greatly help. I appreciate it.

What formula would you use to measure kurtosis, why are you measuring it and how does it apply to sampling a sine wave?

Pete

The overall project will involve taking a chin EMG signal and extracting the Kurtosis, RMS, and Zero Crossings from the analog signal and sending these values wirelessly to a laptop using XBee. Right now, I am focusing on just finding out how to extract Kurtosis from a sine wave because this is an easy way to test if the kurtosis program on the Arduino Uno is working. The formula I want to use for Kurtosis is
[the sum of deviation scores raised to the fourth power divided by the number of scores] / [the sum of squared deviation scores divided by the number of scores]^2

The formula I want to use for Kurtosis is

How have you computed "the sum of deviation scores". How have you even gotten one "deviation score"?

The blink without delay example will show you how to do something for any desired interval.

I've learnt a new word today, thanks!

So the question is kurtosis applies to a distribution, so what distribution are you sampling,
simply the voltage samples, or something else like phase or amplitude?

What code do you have now - always post your code if you want someone to suggest
improvements or changes!