2W FM Tuner Stereo

Hello everyone,

I have been working on a 2 watt amplifier that has a Si4705 FM Tuner on the board. The amplifier that I have gone with is the PT2335 with built in tone control so you would not need to use a PT2314 or another chip. This is my first time designing for a amplifier and I hope it is decent. I would appreciate any feedback or even telling me to redo the whole thing.

My goals for the design were to have a completely free ground plane on the backside and I tried to achieve that. There is a small bridge in the ground plane between the Si4703 and PT2335. I have very little traces on the backside and I tried not to block the ground path for the amplifier when I did use the back.

Thanks!

Schematic.pdf (80 KB)

This idea I like very much. I am not able to assess the correctness of the design nor wiring, but in the future I would like to build a FM receiver with digital tuning control and a digital volume control, and this could be a good basis.

Layout with no schematic is kinda pointless for review. The routing does look nice & neat.
Why no ground plane on the top surface?

Thanks for the reply. There is a schematic , it's the first attachment and I will add a top ground plane

Sorry, totally missed that attachment. Think I just glazed over that thinking it was the link for the top picture.
Don't know anything about the chips you are using - is the design your own, a reference design from datasheets, some combination?

This is my own design and I just took the schematic from the datasheet and I have attached the datasheet.

I wanted to be able to just plug in an arduino to it and it has the logic level converters for 5V to 3.3V for the Si4705 and then the PT2335 runs off 5V so it should be plug and play with a library.

PT2335 Sep.2011.pdf (456 KB)

You connect to Arduino via P6, P7?
What's the antenna going to be? Maybe review that connector, put on some kind of 75 ohm coax screw terminal.