Arduino varibale sleep timer

I am just getting started and I need some help in figuring out a direction on a project. I need the Arduino to go to sleep for a period of time and then wake to perform a routine and then go back to sleep. I have this part working well but I want to make the sleep intervals variable which I am not sure how to accomplish. I have a serial connection so periodiclly when it wakes I will send messages to update the wake up cycles. For example I might send a message to wake up at 10:00, 15:00, 17:00 and then a couple days later it might get a message to wake up at 9:30,14:20,19:00,21:00,21:30. I need the timing of the wake up schedule to be fairly accurate but I am not sure how to accept the time of day and convert it to a variable for my sleep cycle. I have seen some projects that involve a timer such as a DS1307 which I will use if I need to but I would really like to find a solution without using that. I know that I will lose any clock or timing I have if I ever lose power but that is fine for my application. Any suggestions on where to start looking or similar examples of other projects is appreciated.

Without an external input, the Arduino has no idea what time it is, or what day of the week, or what year. All that it knows is how long it has been running.

Expecting it to do something at specific times, without an external source of time, is unreasonable.

That source of time does not have to be an RTC, but that is certainly the simplest source of time.

To keep track of the time I was thinking about using Arduino time library which I have been reading about here http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/Time. I am using a GPS so I am hoping I can periodically sync the Arduino clock from that.

I need the timing of the wake up schedule to be fairly accurate but I am not sure how to accept the time of day and convert it to a variable for my sleep cycle.