Home automation capabilities

Hi, I'm new to Arduino and this is my second post in this forum. My question is in relation to home automation technology and the capabilities we have. Maybe I'm slightly old school, or maybe I have yet to open my eyes to the possibilities. When computers first came out, they were intended to make our lives easier and simple. However, in today's world, most Americans spend the majority of their waking hours on one. What ever happened to the simple on/off switch?

Will home automation technology really improve our lives? I've always dreamed of owning a "smart" house like from the old "Back to the Future" movie and such. But what is really available to us today? Those X-10 controllers seem really cool, and I want one; but for what? So I can turn my dishwasher on from my phone(i still have to load it)? So I can dim the lights from my computer(i'm not crippled)? Monitor my thermostat and electricity(some usefulness)? I can hack an xbox kinect to use hand motions to change the channel on my tv instead of a controller, but it's not nearly as efficient. Voice recognition has become significantly greater in the past few years, but SIRI is more of an annoying novelty than life-changing product.

However, on the flip side I have seen some really unique "smart" automated gardening systems come about from diy pioneers. The ability to monitor soil moisture, PH, temp, etc. is lifechanging for the greenhouse or aquaponic gardener. I've seen people create interesting things for their vehicles before they became available like back up cameras and engine monitors.

But, what about for the home? Honestly, DVR's are probably the best home system to come out in the past 10 years. Corning made a great futuristic video entitled "Day Made of Glass", but it relied solely on the advancement of glass technology. Other than robotic systems, what could possibly be of reliable use for the average person?

Acehigh0111: