IMU and Arduino: with or without an on-board digital processor?

Hi all,

first of all let me say it's a week I'm studying IMU and how to use it, so I'm totally new to this type of sensors. I've read a very intersting post (A Guide To using IMU (Accelerometer and Gyroscope Devices) in Embedded Applications. – Starlino Electronics) about how to get and handle gyroscope/accelerometer info directly from this kind of sensors and now I see what a microcontroller (an Arduino in our case) is expected to do to calculate roll and pitch (and eventually yaw).

I have few questions:

1. there are lots of breakout boards on the market, some of them provide just the sensors (like this one form Adafruit Adafruit 9-DOF IMU Breakout - L3GD20H + LSM303 : ID 1714 : $19.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits or this one from Sparkfun https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10724), other include also a digital processor (like this one https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11028). I don't see any relevant difference in price (between $40 and $50), so I guess the real differences are in the sensors, correct? It's not so easy for me to understand what I have to look in the datasheets: info like sensitivity seems to be the same for all the boards...

2. looking at the example code provided by the manufacturers, it seems to me that the board with a DSP (or DMP as Sparkfun call it) is able to provide roll/pitch/yaw info with no need for additional code, is that correct? I have no prob with the math involved, but I've seen how much code we need to transform raw data from accelerometer and gyro and I'm a bit worried about the size of the resulting sketch I should load into the Arduino's memory. So using an IMU with a DSP on-board seems to be a good choise: is this a real concern according to you?