Arduino Motor Shield R3 Help

Hello,

This is my first time playing with Arduino.

I have an Arduino Uno and Motor Shield R3.
I have not been able to find any information on the Motor Shield R3, except for this: http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoMotorShieldR3

Can anyone help me connect a bipolar stepper motor and get it running. I have found tutorials with older Arduino Motor Shields but no the R3. Do I connect all 4 of the stepper motor wires to the A+,A-,B+,B- ? And then control the steps with the #12 & #13 pins (Dir A, Dir B)

Thank You

insert:
Can anyone help me connect a bipolar stepper motor and get it running. I have found tutorials with older Arduino Motor Shields but no the R3. Do I connect all 4 of the stepper motor wires to the A+,A-,B+,B- ? And then control the steps with the #12 & #13 pins (Dir A, Dir B)

Yes. Be sure to set pins 3 and 11 (PWM-A and PWM-B) to HIGH to turn on power. You should probably also turn 8 and 9 to LOW to turn off the brakes.

If you want to hold position without heating up the stepper you can use analogWrite() on 3 and 11 to reduce the power. If you want to release the motor so you can turn the shaft by hand, set 3 and 11 to LOW.

I was completely lost at first, then I found a code of someone that had the same Motor Shield, and it works. :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin:

Thanks for your help.

Incase someone else runs into this problem, this is the code that worked:

#include <Stepper.h>

const int stepsPerRevolution = 48; // change this to fit the number of steps per revolution
// for your motor

// initialize the stepper library on the motor shield
Stepper myStepper(stepsPerRevolution, 12,13);

// give the motor control pins names:
const int pwmA = 3;
const int pwmB = 11;
const int brakeA = 9;
const int brakeB = 8;
const int dirA = 12;
const int dirB = 13;

int x = 0;
void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
// set the PWM and brake pins so that the direction pins // can be used to control the motor:
pinMode(pwmA, OUTPUT);