Arduino Uno or Labjack U3 for new project??????

Hi all,

this is my first post and I am new to Arduino and Labjack. I have a project that requires the signals from 6 independant sensors (force sensors fed into instrumentation amplifiers) to be sampled at around 100Hz and fed into the USB port of a laptop for further processing. In terms of time-to-solution, amount of programming and potential project support, should I consider the Arduino Uno or the Labjack U3? Which is likely to provide the easier solution? (cost not a big issue; but time, effort and stress is!). I programme in C, C# and Matlab script. Any informed opinions more than welcome!!

Cheers,

Phil

:slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :smiley: :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

What is Labjack U3?

Considering the inclusion of LJStreamUD with the LabJack U3, that would certainly mean a quicker time-to-solution with LabJack U3 than with Arduino Uno. LJStreamUD is an all-inclusive data acquisition software package, that will automatically create a tab-delimited ASCII file of your data. With Arduino Uno you would need to develop this data handling on your own.

As for project support, LabJack has a very active support forum at http://forums.labjack.com/index.php?showforum=16, and of course Arduino has this forum. I guess it boils down to deciding if you want a basically plug-and-play data acquisition application, or if you prefer to write your own.

There are plenty of PC-to-Arduino interfaces available (Arduino Playground - InterfacingWithSoftware) that would be comparable to LJStreamUD. Reading 6 analog inputs and sending them over serial 100 times a second is not a difficult interfacing problem, mind you.

Personally I wouldn't want to invest time in learning the LabJack. You say you know electronics and C programming so I don't think you'd have problems getting up to speed on Arduino.