Go Down

Topic: LED Strip SMD 5050 (Read 302 times) previous topic - next topic

jmgech

Hi!

I am attempting to control a 12V RGB LED strip (SMD 5050) from an Arduino Uno (and Nano), and have set up the following breadboard. When I power on the circuit with a 12v power adaptor, the led turns on to white, but doesn't execute my sketch, which should fade from a color to another.
As I'm pretty new to this, have I made a blatant mistake? (Probably, as I seem to have fried my MacBook Air when I connected to both USB and power at the same time...)

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated  :)

James

PaulRB

May 22, 2018, 12:25 am Last Edit: May 22, 2018, 12:33 am by PaulRB

You should avoid all that current going through the Uno's ground pins. Connect the ground pin from the 12V power supply to the breadboard.

Why do you say your witch is not running? Have you tried 3 x 5mm LEDs, with series resistors, connected to the 3 pwm outputs, without the strip of 12V psu connected?

What model/part number of MOSFET are you using?

jmgech

Hi Paul, thank you for your response  :)

As MOSFET I used 3 LD1117AV33.

Regarding the wiring of the ground, do you mean I should rewire as in my updated diagram?

Regarding the sketch, I am running the following, but it only lights to white.

Code: [Select]
int red = 9;
int green = 10;
int blue = 11;

void setup() {
  pinMode(red, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(green, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(blue, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  fadeFromTo(red, green);
}

void fadeFromTo(int from, int to){
  for(int i=0; i<255; i++){
    analogWrite(to, i);
    delay(5);
    analogWrite(from, 255-i);
    delay(5);
  }
}

Wawa

As MOSFET I used 3 LD1117AV33.
That's a 3.3volt voltage regulator, not a mosfet.
Leo..

PaulRB

May 23, 2018, 05:56 pm Last Edit: May 23, 2018, 08:57 pm by PaulRB
That's a 3.3volt voltage regulator, not a mosfet.
Correction: they were 3.3volt regulators, now they are probably broken 3.3volt regulators.

jmgech